2018 Henry Friesen Award And Lecture (CSCI/RCPSC)

Sponsored by
The Canadian Society for Clinical Investigation (CSCI)
The Royal College of Physicians and Surgeons of Canada

Selection Criteria & Eligibility:

  • A Canadian scientist, MD or PhD who is notable for her/his contribution to biomedical or related research and who is actively involved in research at a Canadian university.
  • The research should be recognizable on the international field as novel and original and of the highest calibre.
  • The body of work should be of significant duration to be proven longitudinally.
  • The individual should serve as a role model to the membership of the CSCI and the RCPSC.

Proposal Process
Nominations will be sought as widely as possible. The nomination package should be admin@csci-scrc.ca and should contain the following:

  • Letters from two (2) sponsors, the first being from the person proposing the candidate outlining the rationale for this nomination, the second being from a person who is seconding the nomination
  • The nominee’s curriculum vitae, including a full list of publications and a complete business mailing address and current e-mail address
  • Two of the nominee’s best publications (these can be of the nominee’s choosing)

The deadline for nominations is June 1, 2018.

Selection Process
Review and prioritization of the candidates will be made by the CSCI Awards Committee and their recommendations will be forwarded to the CSCI Executive for ratification.

Note: Nominations and curriculum vitae will be held for consideration
by the committee for a total period of three (3) years.

The Award
The award consists of $3,000.00 monies to cover travel and hotel expenses to the RCPSC/CSCI annual meeting and an honorary membership in the CSCI.

The recipient agrees to write a review article to be published in the Journal Clinical and Investigative Medicine. The article should be 2,000-3,000 words and submitted by October 1, 2017.

Presentation and Lecture
The recipient will be expected to deliver a 35-40 minute lecture during the CSCI Annual Conference. The lecture is to be more philosophical than scientific in topic in order to appeal to a broad audience.

Past Award Recipients

2017 . Dr. David Goltzman
2016 . not awarded
2015 . Dr. David Malkin
2014 . Dr. Lorne A. Babiuk
2013 · Dr. Yusuf Salim
2012 · Dr. Morley Hollenberg
2011 · Dr. Fernand Labrie
2010 · Dr. Paul Kubes
2009 · Dr. Jean L. Rouleau
2008 · Dr. Michel G. Bergeron
2007 · Dr. Guy Rouleau
2006 · Dr. Jacques P. Tremblay
2005 · Dr. Katherine Siminovitch
2004 · Dr. Chaim Roifman
2003 · Dr. Michael Hayden
2002 · Dr. James Cameron Hogg
2001 · Dr. Charles Scriver
2000 · Dr. Alan Bernstein
1999 · Dr. Michel Chrétien
1998 · Dr. Anthony Pawson
1997 · No award given
1996 · Dr. W. Ford Doolittle
1995 · Dr. Lap-Chee Tsui
1994 · Dr. Michael Smith

On June 30th, 2011, posted in: Awards by
Comments are closed.